The first weeks of postpartum

I must say that I didn’t expect the first weeks to be that hard. I knew it won’t be so easy but also didn’t realize that after giving birth my body and my mind will go through so much.

First, I was extremely paranoid all the time. I couldn’t sleep when Emilia was sleeping because I was worried that something may happen to her. All the stories about sudden infant death syndrome they tell you at the hospital just added to the already stress and anxiety for sure. Still, baby girl is 3mo and I worry but I also can sleep a little better now. I am however very in tune with my baby girl and I wake very quickly when she starts moving at night. It’s kind of like sleeping with one eye opened ๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†

Second, my body just wasn’t recovering so well. For the first 7 weeks postpartum I was on an antibiotic 5 times. Two times for urinary tract infection and 3 times for a sinus infection. Plus I was anemic. I expected to be anemic because I had very bad anemia when I was younger and I knew that at birth I will loose lots of blood and that may cause a come back of anemia especially that towards the end of the pregnancy my dr put me on iron already. I was constantly feeling tired and miserable but at the same time I was trying to enjoy my baby ๐Ÿ‘ถ๐Ÿ˜Š I think that physical pain was the hardest part of the first few weeks. On top of all that I got hemorrhoids at week 5. Not fun at all!

Mentally, I also wasn’t all okay there. I had my mother and my grandmother to help me out for the first weeks. While I love my mom and trust her without doubt she made me feel awful all the time. We fought a lot and argued because she never did as I asked her to do with my daughter. I didn’t have that issue with my grandma. It has gotten way better since then and my mom now does as I tell her at least while I am there to see it ๐Ÿ˜Š I also think my hormones were so crazy postpartum that I took everything differently than now that it is all leveled out.

My daughter though, she is the best thing that have ever happened to me! I love her to pieces and to be honest she is a very good baby ๐Ÿ˜Š

I always thought that carrying the baby for 9 months and giving birth will be the hardest part but I can honestly say that the first weeks postpartum were the most trying times in my life. I will definitely prepare mentally better for the second baby if I am lucky enough to have another precious gift ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

Leave a comment